Expressed by John

What I like about music is that some of them can really speak your soul out. And some of them stuck in you head because you know how much it’s true. There are a lot of songs that stuck. But recently, I’m really stuck in John Mayer’s songs.

We have a jukebox in our office dinning area. My colleagues will know that I’m in there whenever there is John Mayer singing. One particular song, “Stop This Train”, really stuck in  the must play list. It’s like a morning prayer for me before I start my day. If you have not heard about the song, here is the live version on Youtube.

“Stop This Train”

No I’m not color blind
I know the world is black and white
Try to keep an open mind but…
I just can’t sleep on this tonight
Stop this train I want to get off and go home again
I can’t take the speed it’s moving in
I know I can’t
But honestly won’t someone stop this trainDon’t know how else to say it, don’t want to see my parents go
One generation’s length away
From fighting life out on my own

Stop this train
I want to get off and go home again
I can’t take the speed it’s moving in
I know I can’t but honestly won’t someone stop this train

So scared of getting older
I’m only good at being young
So I play the numbers game to find away to say that life has just begun
Had a talk with my old man
Said help me understand
He said turn 68, you’ll renegotiate
Don’t stop this train
Don’t for a minute change the place you’re in
Don’t think I couldn’t ever understand
I tried my hand
John, honestly we’ll never stop this train

See once in a while when it’s good
It’ll feel like it should
And they’re all still around
And you’re still safe and sound
And you don’t miss a thing
’til you cry when you’re driving away in the dark.

Singing stop this train I want to get off and go home again
I can’t take this speed it’s moving in
I know I can’t
Cause now I see I’ll never stop this train

And here is my interpretation.

First verse talks about this monotonous world. Whatever you do, the world will be just the world. Though we can see in color, it is always black and white. There are so many things we know but only so little we can change. There are so little meaning to live for. I want to stop the time (train), and go back to my naive childhood.

Second verse is straight to its point. Who wants to see their parents die? but you know one day they will die. My father is 70 years old and my mom is 60. I live everyday of my life since I graduated from college knowing that anytime from today, they will die. Nobody can change that fact.

The first bridge talks about getting old myself. I’m 25 years old now. Every year I tell my self that I’m young. I’m still young, and I lie to myself that my life has just began. But the truth is that my life began 25 years ago. And I don’t know where I really am right now.

The second part of the first bridge is when I started to feel goosebumps. It talks about the trap that everybody knows but will still fall into. The fact that we will regret something in the future when we get wiser, but we still live our life pretending to be fine with it. Wait until you are old enough then you will understand. You will be a totally different person.

My second goosebumps, and the stronger one happen during the second bridge. Especially during the phrase “And you’re still safe and sound”. Honestly, I don’t really understand this part of the song yet, but it really sounds good. As if everything around you is good until you have to leave them and head to your next destination because the train is moving. This part, I guess is still talking about the wiser year of human. Where we finally find a place we can call home. But we know that we can’t stop this train. We can’t.

Leave a Reply

