Logic and reasoning

There is that one moment of my life that I just bought a new laptop for a few days and already thinking of selling it off for some reasons. I couldn’t help but to remember that slight 30 minutes of my live driving my car on the way back from work thinking if I should sell my laptop away.

The amazing thing is not in the conclusion weather I decided to sell it or not. The key amazing thing is at the process of this logical reasoning. Let’s drag a little longer and go through the entire thinking process. Here is the fuller story.

I’m sure you’ve got into buying some stuffs that you ended up regretting. It feels like you don’t need this thing, or it doesn’t fulfil your need. I’ve faced this situation many times, but most of times they are not too expensive or is essential. So I’ve kept most of them.

But there was that one time that I’ve bought a Macbook Air and realised that it was a total mistake. For starter, I prefer staying home than moving around. So obviously a thin under-performed laptop wouldn’t suit my need. I should have bought a heavier machine that I don’t carry around. Further more I’ve already had a Ubuntu build that I booted from my company’s laptop which worked pretty great. That’s when I decided that I should sell it.

That is the first step, we have a problem now. I have an item that doesn’t really fit to my need and it’s expensive.

The first solution to the problem is that I should probably sell it out. It was only a few days old and with a little luck I should be able to sell it out with the same price as I bought it.

The logic stopped right there for a minute and the heart thrown in its two cents. The heart wanted this new shiny laptop very much and didn’t really fells like selling it off. Here comes the conflicts of interest.

What happened next was that the logic part of me started to think of alternatives. It started to ask questions like whether it should keep it and why. And that is when the logic and heart go and fort arguing whether it should keep it or sell it out.

A few hundreds thought bubbles later, bing, the single statement concluded the whole arguments. I realised that I didn’t have a laptop for myself and I’m using my company’s laptop to do most of the stuffs. That’s when the heart and logic settled down for a conclusion.

It’s not much about how much stronger the heart part of the reasoning is, but the fact that a single statement can turn around a logical decision 180 degree, it is something we should look out for.

Leave a Reply

